New Occupational Injury and Illness Record keeping Requirements
As of January 1, 2002 California employers are required to begin recording injuries and illnesses according to the provisions of the new federal regulation, as adopted in California. The following information highlights the changes that your organization should be aware of:
- Cal/OSHA Form 300 / Log of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses / (Replaces the existing Cal/OSHA Form 200) http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/DoshReg/ApndxA300Final.pdf
- Cal/OSHA Form 300A / Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses / (New) http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/DoshReg/ApndxB300Afinal.pdf
- Cal/OSHA Form 301 / Injury and Illness Incident report / (Replaces Cal/OSHA Form 101) / EQUIVALENT FORM: EMPLOYER’S FIRST REPORT OF INJURY (5020) http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/DoshReg/ApndxC301Final.pdf
- For Calendar Year 2001: The summary of 2001 data will be based on the existing Cal/OSHA Form 200. As previously, you will be required to post the summary form February 1, 2002 to March 1, 2002.
- For Calendar Year 2002: Begin using new Cal/OSHA Forms (300, 300A, 301) at the end of each calendar year:
- Review the Cal/OSHA Form 300. Create an annual summary using the Cal/OSHA Form 300A, Annual Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses.
- Certify the annual summary. A company executive must certify that he or she reasonably believes, based on his or her knowledge of the process by which the information was recorded, that the annual summary is correct and complete.
- Post the annual Summary for 3 months, February 1 through April 30.
- Retain the Cal/OSHA Forms 300, 300A and 301 (or equivalent) for 5 years following the end of the calendar year that these records cover.
- Partial Exemption for Employers with 10 or fewer employees
- Partial Exemption for Establishments in Certain Industries
General Recording Criteria
- A work-related injury or illness must be recorded if it results in one or more of the following:
- Days Away From Work
- Restricted Work or Transfer to Another Job
- Medical Treatment Beyond First Aid
- Loss of Consciousness
- Significant Injury or Illness Diagnosed by a Physician or Other Licensed Health Care Professional
NOTE: You must also report any work-related fatality or serious injury or illness to the Division of Occupational Safety and Health within 8 hours, as required by Title 8, Section 342.
- When an injury or illness involves one or more days away from work, enter the number of calendar days on the form.
- The total number of days away from work may be “capped” at 180 calendar days.
Recording Criteria for Needlesticks and Sharps Injuries
Must record all work-related needlestick injuries and cuts from sharp objects that are contaminated with another person’s blood or potentially infectious material (as defined by Title 8, Section 5193).
Should you have any questions, additional information including a copy of the regulation and the required forms can be found at the Department of Industrial Relations’ website, http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/DoshReg/EmpRecPropReg.html.